Team Canada 26 Man Shortlist Announced

EDMONTON, AB – Roller Hockey Canada is proud to announce today the top 26 inline hockey players that have been shortlisted for further evaluation in preparation to represent Team Canada at the 2017 IIHF World Championships in Bratislava, Slovakia.

Fifty players were evaluated over the past weekend at the Team Canada ID Camps in Spruce Grove and North Vancouver. The 26 short listed players will continue to be evaluated and researched in internal meetings. The list will be narrowed down to the final roster of 16 players to proudly wear the Team Canada jersey.

“Our goal is to assemble the most competitive team possible for the World Championships and defend our title,” said General Manager, Kirk Jensen. “Through the ID Camps we were excited to see such a balance of players, both rookies and veterans, from across Canada. Our game and country are in good hands for the present and well into the future.”

The IIHF Inline World Championships pits Canada against seven other countries in the Top Division. 2017 will be the 21st year for this championship. Team Canada has been on the podium for the past five years and captured gold at the last championship in 2015 with a 4-2 win over Finland.

“Short listing these players was no easy feat,” said Head Coach Jason Stephens. “The players that came to the ID Camps along with the UTAs are very talented, and trying to put together a team that can come together in a World Championship over a short time period and play a team game is difficult.”

Over the next few days Team Canada staff will work to get down to the final roster with it being announced on the website and through social media on Sunday, May 21st.

The IIHF World Championships is the pinnacle event for an athlete in the Team Canada Program. It is the only world championship recognized and sanctioned by the IIHF and Hockey Canada. The championships will be held this year from June 25-July 1 in Bratislava at the Ondrej Nepela Arena.

The Team Canada Roster Short List includes the following players (in alphabetical order):

1. Trevor Ayre
2. Brendan Baumgartner
3. Brett Bulmer
4. Corey Conacher
5. Jamie Deba
6. Josh Foote
7. Shaun Furlong
8. Dave Hammond
9. Kyle Henderson
10. Schael Higson
11. James Isaacs
12. Brett Leggat
13. Matthew Paccagnan
14. Chris Rauckman
15. Nathan Renouf
16. Jonah Renouf
17. Adam Ross
18. Cole Sonsteille
19. Austin Steger
20. Jimmy Teed
21. Chris Terry
22. Paul Town
23. Kade Vilio
24. Trent Vilio
25. Stefan Virtanen
26. Thomas Woods